On bus stops and MRTs

Posted: June 1, 2010 in Travel modes

Bus stops at Singapore are named and numbered for easy identification.

Most stops are named after the avenue or road that they are on. Some stops are named based on where they are physically located. For example, near where we live, there is a Chatsworth Road and two bus stops named after it as ” Opposite Chatsworth Road” and ” Before Chatsworth Road”.  From the little I have traveled I know of a bus stop called Opposite old police academy, After Church of our Savior, Opposite the treasury,  opposite Jumbo industrial building and so forth. I don’t think anyone worth her salt can get disoriented or lost in this city.

Though I have not been around much in the MRTs (metro trains) here, from what little I have used I know that there are maps available at every station and the stations are clearly ear marked with colour coded names of the three major lines that run along the length and breadth of the city state.

I have become savvy finding out routes from one place to another using http://www.gothere.sg which gives me the details of the routes, the cost, the time taken and alternate routes by three different modes of travel, where to board, where to get off, what distance to walk to destination. The only detail missing is, which  direction to walk to destination from where I get off. That I figure is a question of trial and error. The other method of asking and finding has not really worked. Surprising as it may sound, the average- bus- stop- Singaporean is totally involved with his mobile phone, Mp3 player, laptop or young friends of the opposite gender, and has little interest in where you want to reach or how soon.

Leave a comment