On clothes and flipflops.

Posted: June 2, 2010 in Clothes

Singapore has beautiful weather. Well, for most part of the day in May. I cannot comment about other months of the year since I have been around only for a short time. I guess we are blessed with sunny days most part of the year which brings us to the subject of my post- clothes.

I notice that irrespective of age, gender or economic background, people wear sensible summer clothes all day. I suspect that the most common item of clothing you will find in any Singaporean wardrobe is a pair of shorts. Everyone wears shorts. The girls wear shorter shorts than the boys, women wear shorts, men do too. If you step out into the streets or a mall, you will seldom find anyone wearing anything below knee level. If someone is in a  formal pair of trousers or jeans, or a dress, you know she is dressed that way because she is at work. She is an office goer. As soon as you get home, you slip back into your pair of shorts. And flip flops.

Flip flops are a rage. Most people I see wear a pair of comfy ‘Crocs’ or flip flops. Unless again, you are an office goer then it requires you to wear a formal pair of shoes or some fancy footwear.

A common sight on the streets is locals with alabaster skin, wearing shorts and flip flops going about their day. It has been easy for my husband and daughter to switch to the ‘local’ dressing styles to fit into the scheme of things.I have given a break to my Indian clothes too. I like wearing trousers or knee length capris when I step out.

Leave a comment